UTSCAP Network Governance

UT Southwestern Accountable Care Network Committees

UTSHS/UTSACN Quality Assurance Committee

To oversee and provide guidance for quality improvement within UTSHS/UTSACN to facilitate high-quality, efficient, patient-centered care, which prepares UTSHS/UTSACN for success in a population management environment.

Workgroup MembersContact Information
Gary Reed, M.D., Chair gary.reed@utsouthwestern.edu 
Alfred Zevallos, M.D. alfredgzevallos@sbcglobal.net
John Webb, M.D.  john.webb@utsouthwestern.edu 
Mack Mitchell, M.D. mack.mitchell@utsouthwestern.edu
Michael Uselton, M.D. mtuselton1@tx.rr.com
Jason Fish, M.D. jason.fish@utsouthwestern.edu
Michael Chiu, M.D. michael.chiu@utsouthwestern.edu 

Quality Assurance Work Groups

Data Reporting

To review current UTSHS/UTSACN quality data reporting processes and make recommendations to the UTSHS/UTSACN Quality Assurance Committee to ensure successful network data reporting across UTSHS/UTSACN and its initiatives.

Workgroup Members

EMR Governance

To review and recommend policies and procedures designed to standardize the use of electronic medical records within UTSHS/UTSACN practices.

Workgroup Members
  • Shaun Murphy, M.D.
  • Hong Xiao, M.D.
  • Nina Cahan, M.D.
  • Donald Ingle, M.D.

UTSHS/UTSACN Utilization Management Committee

To oversee and provide guidance for utilization management improvement at UTSHS/UTSACN to facilitate high quality, efficient, patient-centered care that prepares UT Southwestern Health Systems and UT Southwestern Accountable Care Network for success in a population management environment

Workgroup MembersContact Information
Lynne Kirk, M.D., Chair lynne.kirk@utsouthwestern.edu
Berto Zamora, M.D. bertozamora@sbcglobal.net
Gary Pesicka, M.D. gary.pesicka@utsouthwestern.edu
David Pillow, M.D. david.pillow@utsouthwestern.edu
Abey Thomas, M.D.  abeyk.thomas@utsouthwestern.edu
Cecelia Brewington, M.D. cecelia.brewington@utsouthwestern.edu
Charles Powell, M.D.  cpowell@healthcareassociates.com

Utilization Management Workgroups

Emergency Department Utilization

To review current UTSHS/UTSACN Emergency Department utilization to identify and recommend initiatives and strategies to UTSHS/UTSACN Utilization Management Committee to ensure appropriate network Emergency Department utilization and cost management.

Workgroup Members
  • David Pillow, M.D., Chair
  • Deborah Diereks, M.D.
  • Antoine Albert, M.D.
  • Susan Moreno, D.O.
  • Denise Bannister, M.D.
  • Arminda Perez, M.D.
  • Jay Meng, M.D.
  • William Calley, Jr., M.D.
  • Edid Ramos-Rivas, M.D.

Hospital Utilization

To review current UTSHS/UTSACN Hospitalist Utilization and admission procedures to identify opportunities to facilitate appropriate utilization and cost management within UTSHS/UTSACN.

Workgroup Members
  • Michael McCullough, M.D.
  • Ricardo Diaz, M.D.
  • Joseph Murphy, M.D.

Transitions of Care

To review current UTSHS/UTSACN transitions of care to identify opportunities to facilitate appropriate utilization and cost management within UTSHS/UTSACN.

Workgroup Members
  • Abey Thomas, M.D., Chair
  • Michael Chiu, M.D.
  • Min Yi, D.O.
  • Michael Burton, M.D.
  • Ayesha Aman, M.D.
  • Jason Fish, M.D.
  • Ellen O'Connell, M.D.

High-Cost Imaging Services

To review current utilization measures/metrics and make recommendations to the UTSHS/UTSACN Utilization Management Committee to ensure appropriate utilization and cost management of imaging services within both UT Southwestern Health Systems and the UT Southwestern Accountable Care Network.

Workgroup Members
  • Walter Gaman, M.D.
  • Yili Wang, M.D. 
  • Juan Herrera, M.D.
  • Bruce Henry, M.D.

Referral Management

To review current processes for the management of referrals within UTSHS/UTSACN and across the UTSHS/UTSACN service area to facilitate high quality, efficient, patient-centered care for the management of the UTSHS/UTSACN population.

Workgroup Members
  • Stan Taylor, M.D., Chair    
  • DuWayne Willett, M.D.
  • Chrisette Dharma, M.D.
  • Yill Wang, M.D.
  • Mary Ward, D.O.

UTSHS/UTSACN Credentialing Committee

To oversee the process of credentialing practitioners for UTSCAP/UTSACN and ensure that patient care within the network is maintained at a high level of quality and efficiency based on pertinent information concerning current professional/clinical competency, obtained from all relevant sources, including other institutions and healthcare settings relevant to the practitioner.

Workgroup MembersContact Information
Michael Chiu, M.D., Chair michael.chiu@utsouthwestern.edu
Stan Taylor, M.D. stan.taylor@utsouthwestern.edu
Temple Howell-Stampley, M.D. temple.howell-stampley@utsouthwestern.edu
Juan Herrera, M.D. juan.herrera@utsouthwestern.edu
Alfred Zevallos, M.D. alfredgzevallos@sbcglobal.net
Rodrigo Sotillo, M.D. rodrigo.sotillo@utsouthwestern.edu
John Webb, M.D. john.webb@utsouthwestern.edu