Acclaimed Neurosurgeon Takes Helm as Chair

H. Hunt Batjer, M.D., F.A.C.S., an internationally acclaimed neurosurgeon with specific expertise in cerebrovascular diseases, is the new Chair of the Neurological Surgery Department at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Batjer comes to North Texas from Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine, although he is no stranger to the Metroplex. He received his medical and surgical training at UT Southwestern and then served on the faculty here until 1995, when he left for Northwestern to be its first Chair of Neurological Surgery.

Dr. Batjer’s leadership roles include service as President of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons, the Neurological Society of America, and the Society of University Neurosurgeons. He served as Director and Chair of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and currently chairs the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Neurological Surgery. For the past 2 ½ years, he has co-chaired the NFL’s Head, Neck, and Spine Committee.

Dr. Batjer’s research focuses on neurovascular disease, head trauma, and surgical education. He’s written eight books and nearly 350 papers, and serves on multiple editorial boards and national committees charged with charting the future of neurosurgery.