Awards and Recognition

UT Southwestern Medical Center is honored frequently for the quality of our care and the significance of our discoveries. While we enjoy being recognized, we’re more pleased with what the awards represent to our patients – the best in care from the most highly trained physicians using the latest advanced technologies.

Here are just a few of the recent honors we (and you) have won:


  • UT Southwestern is nationally ranked among the top 50 programs in six specialties, as well as ranked first in Dallas-Fort Worth and second in Texas, according to U.S. News & World Report’s annual Best Hospitals listings. Eight other specialties and procedures earned high performing designation. 

    U.S. News & World Report ranked UT Southwestern Medical School in the top 10 nationally in primary care and the top 25 in research.


  • UT Southwestern University Hospitals is granted Magnet® status by the American Nurses Credentialing Center. Magnet designation is the “gold standard” for nursing excellence and high-quality patient care in hospitals across the country. Only about 7 percent of U.S. hospitals have achieved Magnet designation.
  • UT Southwestern received the Healthcare Informatics Innovator of the Year Award for developing a comprehensive and agile system to identify, track, and report clinical quality and patient-reported outcomes across all ambulatory clinics.
  • Becker’s Hospital Review recognized UT Southwestern for its comprehensive cancer services and care, provided through the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center. Becker’s included UT Southwestern in its list of 100 Hospitals and Health Systems With Great Oncology Programs.
  • Zale Lipshy University Hospital received the Pinnacle of Excellence Award in Patient Experience for maintaining consistently high levels of excellence over multiple years in inpatient care. The award is presented to the top three performing organizations by category on the basis of extraordinary achievement. About 40 organizations receive the award annually.
  • Zale Lipshy University Hospital also received the Guardian of Excellence Award in Quality for reaching the 95th percentile of clients for patient experience, employee or physician engagement, or clinical quality performance – awarded annually based on a year of data.
  • UT Southwestern received the Community Response Award, along with Parkland Health & Hospital System, for caregivers who rise to the occasion during times of crisis and support their communities during difficult times.



  • Zale Lipshy University Hospital and the Multi-Specialty Clinic each received the 2014 Press Ganey Beacon of Excellence Award for patient satisfaction.

  • The Outpatient Surgery Center won National Research Consultants' Five Star National Excellence Award.
  • UT Southwestern has been certified as an Advanced Comprehensive Stroke Center by The Joint Commission – its highest level of certification – recognizing UTSW’s capabilities to treat the most complex stroke cases on a round-the-clock basis. It is one of only 67 medical centers nationwide to earn the certification and the only one in North Texas. UT Southwestern is the first medical center in the nation to receive advanced comprehensive designation for dual-hospital stroke care, which combines the care and expertise delivered at both St. Paul and Zale Lipshy University Hospitals.


  • Zale Lipshy University Hospital received the 2013 Press Ganey Beacon of Excellence Award for patient satisfaction, one of only three academic medical centers in the nation and one of 26 health care facilities selected nationally to receive that distinction.


  • St. Paul University Hospital is recognized by The Joint Commission as a Top Performer on Key Quality Measures® for achieving excellence in performance on its accountability measures during 2012 for Heart Attack, Heart Failure, Pneumonia, and Surgical Care measure sets. Zale Lipshy University Hospital is recognized for Surgical Care. Out of the 3,343 eligible hospitals submitting accountability measure data to The Joint Commission, St. Paul and Zale Lipshy University Hospitals were two of 1,099 to meet or exceed the target rates of performance for 2012.
  • UT Southwestern repeats its year-earlier performance by once again claiming two patient satisfaction awards from Press Ganey. The awards are based on federal data that measure patient satisfaction in areas such as communication with doctors and nurses, responsiveness of hospital staff, pain management, cleanliness, and quietness.
  • Twelve UT Southwestern clinical programs earn national recognition from U.S. News & World Report. We’re one of only 148 medical centers nationwide – out of nearly 4,800 hospitals across the country – that earned a national ranking in one or more specialties.
  • For the second year in a row, UT Southwestern is named to the “Most Wired” list by Hospitals & Health Networks magazine, the American Hospital Association’s flagship publication. The list recognizes hospital systems’ use of information technology in four areas, including clinical quality/safety and care continuum.
  • Nearly 20 UT Southwestern nurses are named among the area’s best in separate lists compiled by D Magazine and the Great 100, an organization that honors the 100 leading Dallas-Fort Worth nurses.


  • UT Southwestern is the nation’s only academic medical center to win two patient satisfaction awards from Press Ganey, a national consulting firm that specializes in health care performance.
  • A fifth UT Southwestern faculty member wins a Nobel Prize. Bruce Beutler, M.D., Director of UT Southwestern’s Center for the Genetics of Host Defense, shares the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with two other researchers for their discoveries in how the immune system works.
  • The American Cancer Society installs Phil Evans, M.D., Director of UT Southwestern’s Center for Breast Care, as its national president.
  • The Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas (CPRIT) awards more than $36.7 million in new grants to investigators at UT Southwestern to support cancer-related projects and to recruit pre-eminent cancer investigators. UT Southwestern receives the most funding of any individual Texas institution.


  • UT Southwestern’s Harold C. Simmons Cancer Center attains National Cancer Institute designation – the only North Texas medical center to receive it – in recognition of innovative research and excellence in patient care.
  • The Joint Commission certifies UT Southwestern’s St. Paul University Hospital as a Primary Stroke Center, a distinction for hospitals fostering specialized stroke care for patients.